Dinner, Meatless Monday, Restaurants
Leave a Comment

Meatless Monday-My New Favorite Restaurant!

Happy Monday!  Did that weekend go really fast for anyone else?!  One thing about the quick weekend is the fact that today’s Meatless Monday post is already here!  I had seen pictures from a few of my friends who dined at M.A.K.E. in Santa Monica, and the pictures looked so amazing that I couldn’t wait to try the restaurant for myself!  So, on Friday one of my friends and I made the trek to Santa Monica to dine at M.A.K.E..  Let’s just say that the pictures my friends took didn’t even do the restaurant justice!  I was so excited to try M.A.K.E. and tried not to hype it up in my mind, just in case of disappointment, BUT the restaurant fair exceeded my expectations.  Here is a bit about the restaurant and what my friend and I munched on!

BIO:

Located inside Santa Monica Place, M.A.K.E. is a living foods restaurant, featuring cutting edge plant-based cuisine. The menu is executed under the guidance of raw food chef and author, Matthew Kenney. The restaurant is located adjacent to Matthew Kenney Culinary, a state- of-the- art raw food culinary school, attended by students from all over the globe. The restaurant’s menu features innovative ideas inspired by seasonal, local produce, as well as many of Matthew’s classic raw food dishes. Santa Monica is the perfect atmosphere to experience this contemporary cuisine.

The dining area of M.A.K.E. has three main components: a communal omakase-style bar where guests will watch our chefs prepare a tasting menu, and have a fresh juice or cocktail; an airy dining room accented with natural woods and fabrics, and a full service outdoor patio to take advantage of the near-perfect Santa Monica weather.

California Kale alad with Valencia Orange , Sun Dried Olives, Wild Dulse, and Spiced Almonds

California Kale Salad with Valencia Orange , Sun Dried Olives, Wild Dulse, and Spiced Almonds

A kale salad done right!  The dressing was light and bright, and the salad was delicious!

Tree Nut Cheeses with Market Fruit, Sweet & Spicy Mustard Seeds, and Fennel Crisp

Tree Nut Cheeses with Market Fruit, Sweet & Spicy Mustard Seeds, and Fennel Crisp

This dish was a waiter suggestions, and it did not disappoint.  The cheese flavors were truffle macadamia, smoked cheddar, and cumin.  While they all were delicious, my favorite was the truffle macadamia.  The consistency was not of traditional cheese, but more of a pate, which was perfect for spreading on the delicious fennel crisp.  I can’t wait to try to make a tree nut cheese myself!  The fennel crisp was also amazing and I can’t wait to go back and order this just for myself!

Market Tomato Lasagna, Zucchini, Macadamia, Santa Barbara Pistachio, and Basil

Market Tomato Lasagna, Zucchini, Macadamia, Santa Barbara Pistachio, and Basil

With every bite of this dish, my friend and I commented that we couldn’t believe that the lasagna was made out of raw veggies, tomato paste, and macadamia cheese.  The flavors were more flavorful and powerful than a traditional lasagna, and the macadamia cheese tasted exactly like a ricotta cheese!  Another yummy dish!

Black Pepper Kelp Noodles with Mushroom Snap Peas, Olive Crumb, and Pea Vines

Black Pepper Kelp Noodles with Mushroom Snap Peas, Olive Crumb, and Pea Vines

This was my favorite dish of the night!  While the first bite was a little weird, all the flavors then came together and were an explosion in my mouth.  The spiciness of the pepper, the juiciness of the noddles, and the surprising crunch of the olive crumb were delectable!  I typically do not venture to Santa Monica (it is SOO far, yes I know–that’s sarcasm for those who don’t live in the area!), but I would drive twice a week just for a plate of these noodles!

Churro, Strawberry, Peach Pie, and Vanilla Ice Creams

Churro, Strawberry, Spice Cake, and Vanilla Ice Creams

And, dinner wouldn’t be complete without dessert!  We decided on ice cream, which was also nut based and dairy free!  My friend and I also couldn’t believe that these were not a traditional ice cream!  I think in a blind taste test, you would not be able to tell the difference!  My friend and my favorite flavor was the spice cake, which tasted just like pumpkin pie!

I can not express enough how much my friend and I enjoyed the dinner at M.A.K.E., and I think the table next to us was getting tired of us rave and eat in disbelief that this food was raw, dairy free, or vegetarian.  I am counting down the days until the next time I dine at M.A.K.E., and I hope if you are in the LA area you give it a try!

And, I couldn’t post today without wishing my amazing mother a HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!  Wish I was there to toast and eat a slice of cake with you, but we can celebrate soon enough.  I love you!  xoxo

Stay hungry…

Leave a comment